West Virginia Nation’s 26th Right to Work State

Teachers and all workers in West Virginia, are celebrating the freedom a Right to Work Law brings.  The law, passed on February 16, will take effect in May, allowing all workers to join or refrain from union membership.

West Virginia joins Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana Michigan, Mississippi, Nebraska Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia Wisconsin, Wyoming.

If you are a West Virginia teacher and are experiencing difficulty resigning your union membership, please contact the National Right to Work Legal Defense Foundation at info@nrtw.org, or use this link.

If you are a West Virginia teacher who would like more information on nonunion professional educator groups in West Virginia, please use this link to contact West Virginia Professional Educators.

Congratulations, West Virginia!