Wisconsin Teachers Have Spoken

The MacIver Institute has the story:

Workers rejected over 70 of 408 school district unions during annual recertification elections that ended on Thursday, according to a preliminary analysis of the results.

The elections went from November 29th until noon on December 19th and involved 408 collective bargaining units around the state associated with school districts. Workers cast their votes using a telephone voting system.

AFSCME Local 60 Council 40, including support staff in the Sun Prairie School District, was the largest union to be decertified. Only 135 of the 367 members voted to recertify.

Substitute teachers with the Milwaukee Teachers’ Education Association also decertified with 128 of 320 members voting for the union.

There were 22 actual teachers unions that decertified. The largest included New Berlin, Menomonee Falls, Pewaukee, Berlin, Waterford.

Teachers at Milwaukee Public Schools will keep their union certified with 73 percent voting yes. Green Bay had 77 percent of teachers voting to keep their union and Racine had 60 percent.

Other large teachers unions that will maintain certification include: Appleton, Waukesha, Eau Claire, Oshkosh, Janesville, Sheboygan, West Allis, La Crosse, Wauwatosa, Beloit, and Stevens Point.